David Bronson answers all your ‘Questions’ on stellar new album

David Bronson‘Questions’
David Bronson (Big Arc)
3.5 stars out of 5

David Bronson’s “The Long Lost Story” is one of my favorite debuts albums in recent memory. A 22-track autobiographical double album released in two parts, Bronson spent eight years on the project in a true labor of love. He’s back with terrific new full-length “Questions,” an album that merits your attention even if it pales ever so slightly in comparison to its near-perfect predecessor.

David Bronson CDHe’s tweaked his sound to nice effect here, trading the indie folk of “The Long Lost Story” for melodies that incorporate gospel, funk and plenty of soul. “’The Long Lost Story’ took so long for me to bring into being that by the time it came out it was a picture of my distant past,” Bronson explains. “So I was desperate … to express something reflective of my present reality, both emotionally and artistically speaking. And I don’t know exactly why, but I just kept hearing soul singers.”

The dynamic one-two opening punch of “Songbird” and “Move Like Water” set the tone for what’s to come and signal the sonic shift taking place on the 11-track release. Bronson later impresses with “Push,” “All These Things,” “Connect the Dots” and “Passing Fiction.” With “Questions,” Bronson has shown he’s much more than a one-trick pony. I can’t wait to hear what he comes up with next. (Jeffrey Sisk)

Leave a comment