Folk/rock trio The Toothe offer up the revelatory ‘Talon EP’

The Toothe‘Talons EP’
The Toothe (self-released)
4.5 stars out of 5

If I didn’t know better, I’d swear that The Toothe were an alternate identity for The Avett Brothers. Because throughout the folk/rock trio’s “Talons EP,” I had to double check and make sure I wasn’t listening to Seth and Scott Avett do their thing. In fact, The Toothe (formerly John Wilkes Boothe & The Black Toothe) are a North Carolina outfit comprised of Ben Melton, Myles Holt and Paul Blackwell and this six-track EP is a revelation.

The Toothe CDAvett-inspired opener “Earthworms” sets the tone, and The Toothe take a bite out of keepers “Mustard,” “Slab,” “Wine Dark” and “Talons.” I have listened to “Talons EP” pretty much constantly for a few weeks and am anxious to hear more from The Toothe. And soon. (Jeffrey Sisk)

Leave a comment