Canadian rockers Born Ruffians get ‘Ruff’ on latest full-length

Born Ruffians‘Ruff’
Born Ruffians (Yep Roc)
3.5 stars out of 5

Canadian indie rockers Born Ruffians have spent more than decade establishing themselves as a first-rate outfit in their homeland without ever breaking out in the United States. The rock-solid “Ruff” is the quartet’s fourth full-length album and, while not their best work to date (that would be 2010’s sophomore LP “Say It”), serves as a nice introduction to anyone unfamiliar with this talented band.

Born Ruffians CDFrontman Luke Lalonde (guitar/vocals) is the driving creative force behind Born Ruffians and he shines throughout “Ruff.” Rounding out the lineup are Mitch Derosier (bass), Andy Lloyd (guitar/keyboards) and Adam Hindle (drums). Born Ruffians have has earned comparisons to the likes of Talking Heads and The Strokes, and there’s a definite Vampire Weekend vibe evident on this 11-track, 39-minute platter.

Among the highlights here are “Don’t Live Up,” “When Things Get Pointless I Roll Away,” “& On & On & On,” “F*** Feelings,” “(Eat S***) We Did It” and “Let Me Get It Out.” Born Ruffians are a band that deserve to be on your radar. (Jeffrey Sisk)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s