Anthemic Brit rockers Nothing But Thieves drop self-titled debut

Nothing But Thieves‘Nothing But Thieves’
Nothing But Thieves (RCA)
3.5 stars out of 5

Within a couple songs of London-based outfit Nothing But Thieves’ self-titled debut album, it’s evident that the lads have spent plenty of time listening to the pulse-pounding rock of countrymen Muse. There’s a similar level of bombast to the Nothing But Thieves sound that should get you fired up whenever you take the 16-track, 56-minute slab for a spin.

Nothing But Thieves CDFrontman Conor Mason has a big, big voice and he’s gets ample assistance from bandmates Joe Langridge-Brown (guitars), Dom Craik (guitars), Philip Blake (bass) and James Price (drums). They’ve previously generated plenty of buzz with 2013 EP “If You Don’t Believe, It Can’t Hurt You” and build on that solid foundation with their first long player.

Happily two stellar songs from the EP — “Itch” and “Graveyard Whistling” — made the cut for the full-length, and Nothing But Thieves also score with rousing opener “Excuse Me,” “Ban All the Music,” “Trip Switch,” “Drawing Pins,” “Painkiller,” “Neon Brother” and “Honey Whiskey.” If you need a nice sonic pick-me-up, I’d encourage you to check out Nothing But Thieves. The album’s U.S. release is slated for next Feb. 5. (Jeffrey Sisk)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s