Instant Empire score with terrific debut LP ‘Lamplight Lost’

Instant Empire‘Lamplight Lost’
Instant Empire (self-released)
4 stars out of 5

Do yourself a favor and track down a copy of “Lamplight Lost,” the terrific full-length debut album from Denver-based indie rockers Instant Empire. The six-member outfit’s star is on the rise and after repeated spins of “Lamplight Lost,” I’m eager to get my hands on the Instant Empire’s three earlier EPs.

Instant Empire CDThe songwriting team of Scotty Saunders and Sean Connaughty is to be commended and Saunders distinctive vocals help Instant Empire create a compelling sound all their own. M. Lou Kucera (guitars), Doug Chase (keys/percussion), Aaron Stone (bass) and Tristan Kelley (drums) round out the band’s lineup.

By the end of opening tandem “Young Adult Fiction” and “N.E.S.W.” I was completely hooked and Instant Empire also shine bright on “Mind the Gap,” “North Dakota,” “Flickering Youth” and set closer “Strike the Stage.” This album should help the lads expand their sphere of influence beyond Colorado and the Midwest. Here’s hoping they’re planning a Pittsburgh tour stop at some point in the very near future. (Jeffrey Sisk)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s