Synth-pop newcomers COIN shine on self-titled debut album

COIN (Star Time/Columbia)
3.5 stars out of 5

Fans of bands like Neon Trees, Imagine Dragons, Walk the Moon and Bleachers should find the music of Nashville-based newcomers COIN right up their alley. The up-and-coming foursome mine similar synth-pop turf and have crafted an infectiously melodic self-titled debut album.

Coin CDComprised of Chase Lawrence (vocals), Joe Memmel (guitar), Ryan Winnen (drums) and Zach Dyke (bass), COIN make music thar’s tailor-made for summer radio airplay. The tunes aren’t especially deep or profound, but they sure are fun. And sometimes that’s all you really want (or need) from a band.

Things are starting to take off for COIN, with lead single “Run” closing in on 750,000 streams on Spotify and having been featured during programming for both MTV and ESPN. It’s the best song on a rock-solid 10-track, 35-minute album, with the band also scoring on “Fingers Crossed,” “Time Machine,” “Speaking Voice” and “It’s a Trap.”

COIN rolled into Pittsburgh’s Altar Bar on June 10 in support of headliner Betty Who, but I’m guessing it won’t be long until these guys are getting top billing. (Jeffrey Sisk)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s