The Railsplitters serve up twangy gem in ‘The Faster It Goes’

The Railsplitters‘The Faster It Goes’
The Railsplitters (self-released)
4 stars out of 5

Contemporary bluegrass doesn’t get much better than Colorado collective The Railsplitters, a dynamic five-member outfit that enthralled with their 2013 self-titled debut album and went on to claim Best New Band honors at the RockyGrass and Telluride bluegrass competitions. Happily, they’re back again with spectacular sophomore set “The Faster It Goes.”

The Railsplitters CDLauren Stovall (vocals/guitar), Dusty Rider (banjo/vocals), Christine King (fiddle/vocals), Peter Sharpe (mandolin/vocals) and Leslie Ziegler (bass/vocals) are collaborators in every sense of the word and that spirit permeates “The Faster It Goes.” Though Rider is the primary songwriter, all the principals contribute to the twang-filled, harmony-fueled sound.

You won’t find a clunker anywhere on the album, but The Railsplitters soar highest on “Salt Salt Sea,” “It’s a Little Late,” “The Estuary,” “Planted on the Ground,” “Goosetown” and a set closing cover of “Sweet Little Miss Blue Eyes.” Enjoy, y’all. (Jeffrey Sisk)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s