The Dead Ships emerge with release of latest effort ‘EP I’

The Dead Ships‘EP I’
The Dead Ships (self-released)
4 stars out of 5

Los Angeles-based garage-rock trio The Dead Ships have been kicking around for a few years but didn’t pop up on my radar until fantastic new short-player “EP I” came across my desk last month. The seven-track, 26-minute release makes for a very enjoyable listen and gives every indication that the future is bright for Ship-mates Devlin McCluskey, Christopher Spindelilus and Alex Moore.

The Dead Ships CDThe opening tandem of “Big Quiet” and “Canyon” set the stage for what’s to come on “EP I,” and the lads further impress with “Floorboards,” “Séance” and “Tomorrow’s Crashes.” The “radio edit” of “Canyon, while superfluous, brings the proceedings to a close.

It’s easy to see why the three-piece has already garnered comparisons to the likes of The Strokes, The Black Keys and Alabama Shakes. After repeated spins of the EP, I’m eager to track down The Dead Ships’ full-length debut, 2012’s “Electric Ahab.” I’m guessing you will, too. (Jeffrey Sisk)

Leave a Reply

