Tyler Farr moving up the country ladder with ‘Suffer in Peace’

Tyler Farr‘Suffer in Peace’
Tyler Farr (Columbia Nashville)
4 stars out of 5

Country newcomer Tyler Farr made his full-length debut in 2013 with the decidedly average “Redneck Crazy.” It was a perfectly serviceable collection of modern country tunes, but not a record that I’ve had much desire to revisit over the past couple years. So imagine my surprise when Farr positively knocked it out of the park on sophomore slab “Suffer in Peace.”

Tyler Farr CDThe Missouri native takes a huge leap forward with this terrific gathering of hard country, honky tonk anthems and heartbreak ballads. It might have taken him a little while to find his voice, but Farr now figures to be a real player on the country music scene.

“I don’t think real life is flowers and sunshine — and I didn’t have a white picket fence in front of a little house,” Farr explains. “My parents split up. My dad died. My mom was married five times, so I’m used to people leaving. I’ve been through a lot … but so have most people. And I want to be honest. I’d be lying if I made a record that’s all girls and love and perfect ’cause that’s not real.”

Lead single “A Guy Walks Into a Bar” is my favorite cut on the 11-track, 36-minute platter, but Farr also scores with rollicking opener “C.O.U.N.T.R.Y,” the heartbreaking “Withdrawals,” the title track, “Criminal,” “Better in Boots” and “I Don’t Even Want This Beer.” With “Suffer in Peace,” Tyler Farr appears to be on the cusp of stardom. (Jeffrey Sisk)

Leave a Reply

