The Honeycutters serve up some twangy delight in “Me Oh My’

The Honeycutters‘Me Oh My’
The Honeycutters (Organic)
4 stars out of 5

The Honeycutters, a rootsy country collective fronted by singer/songwriter Amanda Anne Platt, seem poised for bigger and better things with the release of stellar third full-length “Me Oh My.” As the driving creative force behind the North Carolina-based quintet, Platt comes into her own on this enjoyable 14-track release.

The Honeycutters CD“The new album is the one I’m most proud of to date,” Platt says. “I took much more of a driver’s seat in its making, and the process has forced me to do a lot of growing up. I feel like I’ve really found my voice. I’m very excited about the lineup of the band, and the songwriting includes some of my very favorites.”

She’s joined in The Honeycutters by Tal Taylor on mandolin, Rick Cooper on bass, Josh Milligan on drums and Matt Smith on guitar, pedal steel and dobro. They’ve forged a musical chemistry that elevates “Me Oh My” to must-have status. Even with a running time closing in on an hour, the momentum never wanes. That’s a testament to the efforts of Platt & Co.

The Honeycutters come out of the gate firing with “Jukebox,” “All You Ever” and the title track, and later hit all the right notes on “Ain’t It the Truth,” “Little Bird,” “Not That Simple,” “I’ll Be Loving You” and personal favorite “A Life for You.” Enjoy, y’all. (Jeffrey Sisk)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s