Veteran outfit The Brand New Heavies shine on ‘Sweet Freaks’

The Brand New Heavies‘Sweet Freaks’
The Brand New Heavies (earMusic/Eagle Rock)
3.5 stars out of 5

Acid jazz pioneers The Brand New Heavies have been making funky music for almost 30 years and show no signs of slowing down with 10th studio effort “Sweet Freaks.” The rock-solid release is the London quartet’s first to feature Dawn Joseph as lead singer (she split time with ex-vocalist N’Dea Davenport on last year’s “Forward”) and is a worthy addition to their resume.

tbnh_bkltThe grooves get going right out of the gate with “Sweet Freeek” and a nice cover of Peter Gabriel’s “Sledgehammer,” and The Brand New Heavies also hit all the right notes on “In the Name of Love,” “Please to Meet Ya,” “We Live for the Summer,” “You Are the Fire” and “Don’t Let Go.” This band has never been as popular in the United States as in their homeland, but here’s hoping “Sweet Freaks” will change all that. (Jeffrey Sisk)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s