Iain Matthews albums ‘Joy Mining’ and ‘In the Now’ finally get their American release

Iain Matthews‘Joy Mining’ & ‘In the Now’
Iain Matthews (Omnivore)
3.5 stars out of 5; 4 stars out of 5

British folkie Iain Matthews, a founding member of Fairport Convention, delivered his first U.S. album in 15 years earlier this year in the terrific “The Art of Obscurity” and looks to build on that momentum by reissuing a pair of platters previously unavailable in America.

Iain Matthews CD 1Iain Matthews CD 2“Joy Mining” found Matthews collaborating with Dutch jazz ensemble Searing Quartet and its piano-playing leader Egbert Derix. Originally released in 2008, the 12-track platter is a mellow gathering of tunes that showcase Matthews stellar vocals and Derix’s keyboard mastery.

Keepers include “In Spite of Myself,” “My Town,” “Randolph Scott,” “Reservoir” and “Another Night in Paradise.”

Matthews and Derix teamed up again a few years later on 2011’s “In the Now,” a similarly-themed nine-track slab that builds on the foundation laif in “Joy Mining.”

Matthews and Derix don’t miss a note on this fantastic release, soaring particularly high on “Jewel of Illusion,” “When Flloyd Were on the Prowl,” “Pebbles in the Road,” personal favorite “Be Small” and “Gone Is Gone.”

At age 67, Matthews is enjoying a very much deserved late-career renaissance and both “Joy Mining” and “In the Now” enhance his legacy. (Jeffrey Sisk)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s